2013 Digital Alberta Awards Winners Announced

Last night Digital Alberta announced the winners for the 2013 Digital Alberta Awards at a gala event held at the Royal Alberta Museum in Edmonton. 16 winners from a pool of over 100 finalists were chosen.

The Digital Alberta Awards ceremony honours digital industry experts in Alberta, ranging from philanthropy, film, software, community and education, television and gaming, mobile and start-ups, design and creative, to marketing and social media.

The Digital Alberta 2013 Award winners were as follows:

Community and Education

  • Best in Student Interactive Digital Media and Creative Design: Jetpack Kitty, Orest Nazarewycz
  • Best in E-learning: Solar Energy Defenders, MindFuel
  • Best Digital Media Leader – Community Leader, Educator, Program Leader, or Department Head: Duane Szafron, GRAND NCE


  • Best Digital Philanthropy Innovation: Charity App Challenge – A Hack-a-thon for Good

Film, Television and Gaming

  • Best in Cross-platform Content: Sketch 3D, GRAND NCE
  • Best Use of Film, Animation or Special FX: Painted Black, CH Video & Photography Inc
  • Best in Gaming: Spy vs Spy, Robots and Pencils Inc

Software, Mobile and Startups

  • Combined Hardware & Software: Experience Simulation Tools for Medical Training, GRAND NCE
  • Mobile Entertainment: Pop Quiz Show, Uppercut
  • Mobile Applications: Beaucoo (with an honourable mention to FastCab Smartphone App)
  • Best In E-Commerce Solutions: Blame Betty, Cornerstone Technologies
  • Best Digital Startup: BeauCoo

Design and Creative

  • Best Digital Design: ARC Resources Corporate Responsibility Report, ZGM Collaborative Marketing

Marketing and Social Media

  • Best In Social Media: Make Something Edmonton, Lift Interactive Inc
  • B2C Innovation: Connecting You to Edmonton’s Past – Interactive Bus Bench Campaign, Strong Coffee Marketing
  • Best Digital Advertising/Marketing Campaign: The Big Burn, ZGM Collaborative Marketing

In addition to the judged categories, a People’s Choice award for the Most Inspirational Digital Leader is conducted through an online vote where the winner is selected by his or her peers in the digital sector. This year’s winner was Kevin Hayes of Pixel Blue College.