Facebook brought its legacy contact feature to Canada this week.
The feature enables users to select a “legacy contact,” which is a family member or friend who can manage their account when they pass away.
“Facebook is a place to share and connect with friends and family. For many of us, it’s also a place to remember and honor those we’ve lost,” the company says. “When a person passes away, their account can become a memorial of their life, friendships and experiences.”
Once someone informs Facebook a person has passed away, they memorialize the account and the legacy contact will be able to:
- Write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline;
- Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook;
- Update the profile picture and cover photo.
“If someone chooses, they may give their legacy contact permission to download an archive of the photos, posts and profile information they shared on Facebook,” the company says. “Other settings will remain the same as before the account was memorialized.”
Importantly, the legacy contact will not be able to log in as the person who passed away or see that person’s private messages.
Alternatively, “people can let us know if they’d prefer to have their Facebook account permanently deleted after death,” the company notes.
Here’s how to designate a legacy contact.